Questions? Comments? Curious about classes? Contact Us

North Carolina Concealed Carry Handgun Course

This is the prerequisite course for an application to obtain an NC Concealed Carry Handgun permit. The course is 8 hours of classroom training, followed by a written test, then a shooting qualification on the firing range. The qualification consists of 10 shots at 3 yards, 10 shots at 5 yards, and 20 shots at 7 yards. The minimum qualifying score is 32 out of 40 shots inside of the "8" ring on a B27 target, or equivalent. After successful completion of the course, students will be able to apply for their NC CCH permit with their respective sheriff departments. Please see the list of disqualifiers below.

Process for signing up

Once you have requested information about classes, we will respond to you via email to discuss any upcoming dates that are currently scheduled or collaborate with you on setting up a specific date for you. Once we have established this information we will send you a link to our registration form so that you may fill out all the necessary items. Completion of the registration form is required to reserve the class date.

Class Length

8 Hours

Prerequisites

None; Basic Handgun Recommended.

To request information on the next class date please use the Contact form HERE!

General Information (FAQ's)

Issuing Authority: Sheriff of the permittee’s county of residence

Out Of State Permit Issue: North Carolina does not issue permits to non-permanent residents. In order to obtain a permit you must establish permanent residency in North Carolina.

NICS check: Yes, a background check is done through the local Sheriff’s office.

Permit Valid For: 5 years from the date of issuance

Cost:
  • Class: Depends on the company you choose and any qualifying discounts
  • Permit: Varies depending on the Sheriff of the county in which you reside
  • Renewal: Varies depending on the Sheriff of the county in which you reside


Requirements: The sheriff shall issue a permit after receipt of a complete application to an applicant who:
  • is a citizen of the U.S. and has been a resident of the State for at least 30 days immediately prior to filing the application;
  • is at least 21;
  • does not suffer from a physical or mental infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun;
  • has successfully completed an approved firearms safety and training course which involves the actual firing of handguns and instruction in the law governing the carrying of a concealed handgun and the use of deadly force;
  • is not ineligible under federal or state law to possess, receive, or own a firearm;
  • is not currently or has not been adjudicated or administratively determined to be lacking mental capacity or mentally ill;
  • has not been discharged from the armed forces under conditions other than honorable;
  • is or has not been adjudicated guilty or judgment continued or suspended sentence for a violent misdemeanor;
  • has not had judgment continued for or free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a disqualifying criminal offense;
  • has not been convicted of an impaired driving offense within three years prior to the date on which the application is submitted.


Required Documents:
  • Application completed under oath on a form provided by the sheriff
  • Full set of fingerprints administered by the sheriff
  • An original certificate of completion of an approved safety course
  • A release that authorized and requires disclosure to the sheriff of any records concerning the mental health of capacity of the appliant


Renewal Information: The permit holder shall apply to renew the permit at least 30 days prior to its expiration date by filing a renewal form, a notarized affidavit stating that the permit holder remains qualified, a full set of fingerprints and a renewal fee.

Change of Address: The permit holder shall notify the sheriff who issued the permit of any change in the permanent address within 30 days.

Informing Law Enforcement of Carry: The permit holder must carry the permit, together with valid identification, whenever carrying a concealed handgun, and is required to disclose to any law enforcement officer who addresses or approaches the permit holder that he or she is a permit holder and is carrying a concealed handgun.

Automobile carry: You MAY open carry in a motor vehicle. However, localities may regulate the carrying of firearms under certain circumstances.

Places off-limits when carrying:
  • Any location prohibited by federal law.
  • A law enforcement of correctional facility.
  • A building housing only state, federal or government offices.
  • A financial institution.
  • Any public or private school building or bus, campus, grounds, recreation area, athletic fields or other property used or owned by an edicational institution.
  • Any assembly where a fee had been charged for admission or where alcoholic beverages are sold and comsumed.
  • Any other premises where notice that carrying a concealed handgun is prohibited by the posting of a conspicuous notice or statement by the person in legal possession or control of the premises.
  • It shall be unlawful for any person participating in, affiliated with, or present as a spectator at any parade, funeral procession, picket line, or demonstration upon any public place owned or under the control of the state or any of its political subdivisions to willfully or intentionally possess or have immediate access to any firearm.


Alcohol and Drugs: It is unlawful to carry a concealed handgun while consuming alcohol or at any time while the person has remaining in his body any alcohol or in his blood a controlled substance previously consumed. (There is an exception if the controlled substance was lawfully obtained and taken in therapeutically appropriate amounts.)

Deadly Force / Castle Doctrine: North Carolina is a Castle Doctrine state and has a stand-your-ground law.

North Carolina General Statutes §14-51.1

§ 14‑51.1. Use of deadly physical force against an intruder.
  • (a) A lawful occupant within a home or other place of residence is justified in using any degree of force that the occupant reasonably believes is necessary, including deadly force, against an intruder to prevent a forcible entry into the home or residence or to terminate the intruder’s unlawful entry
    • (i) if the occupant reasonably apprehends that the intruder may kill or inflict serious bodily harm to the occupant or others in the home or residence, or
    • (ii) if the occupant reasonably believes that the intruder intends to commit a felony in the home or residence.
  • (b) A lawful occupant within a home or other place of residence does not have a duty to retreat from an intruder in the circumstances described in this section.


This section is not intended to al, expand, or limit any other defense that may exist under the common law. (1993 (Reg. Sess., 1994), c. 673, s. 1.)

Open Carry: Not restricted under state law except for certain events such as public parades.

Disqualifiers for obtaining an NC Concealed Carry Handgun Permit

The applicant has not been adjudicated guilty of, nor received a prayer for Judgment Continued, or suspended sentence for offenses constituting a misdemeanor under the following specific statutes, nor any other crime of violence; Adjudicated as Mentally Defective or been Involuntarily Committed to a mental institution.
  • Assault on handicapped person (N.C.G.S 14-32.1)
  • Simple Assault (N.C.G.S 14-33(a)), within three years prior to the date on the application.
  • Assault inflicting serious injury or using a deadly weapon. (N.C.G.S 14-33(c)(1))
  • Assault on a female (N.C.G.S 14-33(c)(2))
  • Assault a child under the age of 12 (N.C.G.S 14-33(c)(3))
  • Assault inflicting serious injury or using a deadly weapon on a person in a personal relationship and in the presence of a minor. (N.C.G.S 14-33(d))
  • Assault by pointing a gun. (N.C.G.S 14-34)
  • Manufacture, sale, purchase or possession of Teflon-coated bullets (N.C.G.S 14-34.3)
  • Criminal use of a laser device. (N.C.G.S 14-34.8)
  • Domestic criminal trespass (N.C.G.S 14-134.3)
  • Violation of court orders (N.C.G.S 14.226.1), within three years prior to the date on the application.
  • Furnishing poison, controlled substance, deadly weapons, cartridge, ammunition or alcoholic beverage to inmates of charitable, mental or penal institutions, or local confinement facilities (N.C.G.S 14.258.1), within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Carrying weapons on campus or other educational property (N.C.G.S 14.269.2), within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Carrying weapons into assemblies and establishments where alcoholic beverages are sold and or consumed (N.C.G.S 14.269.3), within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Carry weapons on state property and courthouses (N.C.G.S 14.269.4), within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Possession and or sale of spring-loaded projectile knives (N.C.G.S 14.269.6), within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Impersonation of a law enforcement officer or other public officer (N.C.G.S 14.277), within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Communicating threats (N.C.G.S 14.277.1), within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Carry weapons at parades and other public gatherings (N.C.G.S 14.277.2), within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Stalking (N.C.G.S 14.277.3)
  • Exploding dynamite cartridges and or bombs (N.C.G.S 14.283) Except for a violation involving fireworks N.C.G.S 14-414) , within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Rioting and inciting to riot (N.C.G.S 14.288.2) , within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Fighting or conduct creating the threat of imminent fighting or other violence (N.C.G.S 14.288.4(a)(1)) , within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Making or using any utterance, gesture, display or abusive language which is intended and plainly likely to provoke violent retaliation, and thereby create a breach of peace (N.C.G.S 14.288.4(a)(2))
  • Looting and trespassing during an emergency (N.C.G.S 14.288.6) , within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Assault on emergency personnel (N.C.G.S 14.288.9) , within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Violations of city State of Emergency Ordinances (N.C.G.S 14.288.12) , within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Violations of county State of Emergency Ordinances (N.C.G.S 14.288.13) , within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Violations of State of Emergency Ordinances (N.C.G.S 14.288.14) , within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Child abuse (N.C.G.S 14.318.2)
  • Violations of the standards of carrying a concealed weapon (N.C.G.S 14.415.21(b)) Violations of county State of Emergency Ordinances (N.C.G.S 14.288.13) , within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Misrepresentation on certification of qualified retired law enforcement officers (N.C.G.S 14.415.26) Violations of county State of Emergency Ordinances (N.C.G.S 14.288.13) , within three years prior to the date on the application
  • Domestic violence protective order violations (N.C.G.S 50B-4.1)
  • Has been adjudicated guilty or received a prayer for judgment continued or a suspended sentence for crimes involving an assault or a threat to assault a law enforcement officer, probation or parole officer, person employed by the State or local detention facility, firefighter, emergency medical technician, medical responder, or emergency department personnel.
  • Any person convicted of “misdemeanor crime of domestic violence” as defined in federal law at 18 U.S.C 922(g)(8)
  • The person is not free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a crime which would disqualify him/her from obtaining CCH.
  • The applicant has not been convicted of an impaired driving offense under any of the following General Statutes with the three years prior to the date on which the application is submitted: (N.C.G.S 20-138.1): Impaired driving (N.C.G.S 20-138.2): Impaired driving in commercial vehicle (N.C.G.S 20-138.3): Driving by person less than 21 years old after consuming alcohol or drugs

Copyright © Imminent Arms

All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Design by Trey Brown